e36 323i Touring budget drift car (loads of pics and loads of text)

Thread in 'Project Cars and Builds Threads' started by ワゴン, Dec 18, 2016.

1. ワゴン

ワゴン Member

[Last update 14.3. 2017 ] e36 323i Touring budget drift car

Hi,

after owning and modding my e36 for 6 months, I've decided to document the "build" here. I'll try to post every time I do something interesting.

Quick background: I'm a college student from unspecified country in Europe. I bought my e36 because it was cheap. I'm building it on a budget, since I can only spend as much as I can earn. That means I've little money and little free time so progress is slow.

What's done (only "major" stuff):
    • Welded small case 3.38 diff
    • -4cm lowering springs
    • Shimmed lower strut bolts (adds ~-3 degrees of camber)
    • Shimmed steering rack (increases steering lock)
    • Basic weight reduction
    • Fixed heaps of stuff
    • Gauges (oil temp, coolant temp, voltage)
    • Hydraulic handbrake
    • M50B25 intake with supporting mods
    • Flashed ECU

What's planned:

• Styling 5 R16 (et20) rims for front wheels, styling 5 R15 (et20) wheels for back wheels)
    • M52B28 exhaust system - when one appears on a local market for acceptable price
    • eBay spec adjustable coilovers with camber plates or maybe HSD coilovers - no time soon
    • Bucket seats - when the time comes

I've only listed some things that are important. Of course there's a lot of little things I've done and that I plan to do sooner or later. I'll try to document those as well in the photos section.

There's a lot of off topic discussion in this thread. If you're only interested in updates, here's a clickable list of them:

Photos:
    As you can see, I've added US parking lights for extra street cred. You can also see a foggy headlight which I'm too lazy to fix. It feels like I'm using two candles to light up the road so I'll have to do something about it. No M paket, I don't like it and this bumper adds to the sleeper look.