Complete wheels Newb

Thread in 'Drifting Chat / Pictures / Videos' started by jakemk2, Jan 30, 2015.

1. jakemk2

jakemk2 Member

Right, as the title says I am a complete wheels newb. I am looking to get something new for my e36 compact. Ideally I don't want a tire any wider than 205 on the wheel. I Don't mind running stretched tires that isn't a problem. I was just wondering how wide would the wheels have to be to run a 205?

Any advice would be appreciated.

2. icebluesmx5

icebluesmx5 Member

Compact run 205 as standard.
    That's what mine had on it and it's a 1999 v reg

3. jakemk2

jakemk2 Member

Yeah, that is what mine is running. But I want new wheels, preferably something dished. so I was wondering how wide the wheel would have to be to fit a 205 on there.

4. AKAeddypeck

AKAeddypeck Member

Tyre width are measured in mm, wheels tend to be refereed to in inches. 205 refers to a tyre width of 205mm. 205mm equals 8.07086614 inches

Standard BMW alloys that run 205 tyres tend to be 6 / 6.5 / 7 inch rims which is why on stock set up the tyres tend to 'balloon' a bit over the edge of the rim. For a daily driver this is a good thing as the rim is protected from curbing, and since tyres are cheaper then rims I know which one I'd rather have scraping the curb (obviously neither, but if something had to give..)

I'd have thought 7 or 8" would be your max - I'm not a fan of stretch - but there's other things to consider such as offset.

Have a play around with Online Wheel and Tyre Fitment Calculator. Offset, Tyre Stretch and Speedo Error | Will They Fit and put in what you have now and what you're planning on doing.

5. jakemk2

jakemk2 Member

How would I check the offset on my current wheels.

Thanks for the info, really helpful mate!

6. Gooly

Gooly Member