Advice needed on drifter as a daily.

Thread in 'Drifting Chat / Pictures / Videos' started by MagicMik0, Feb 10, 2016.

1. MagicMik0

MagicMik0 Member

Hey

I've been hovering around the forum for a couple of years now. I have decided that it's time to buy a drift car. I am a student at uni and commute between Stoke and Nottingham every weekend therefore I need it to be a decent daily in decent condition, as I can't afford to have two cars.

As soon as my current car sells, I will have around £3000 to spend. My primary choice is an S13 however if I don't manage to find one, what should I look for? I've had some good advice from @scoobystu about 13's over the past couple of weeks, and it's been on top of my list since I was a little lad, however if the case is that if my car sells, and there aren't many 13's about in my budget, are there any other decent motors to look out for? I've considered MX5's and IS200's but I'd just like to hear what some of you think.

Cheers guys:D

2. Stavros

Stavros Active Member

Wouldn't get a S13 for 3k and expect it to be a daily and a drifter. Lucky for it to be 1 of them these days for 3k.

It depends what you want from a car.

I've daily'd MX5s loads while using them for drifting, no bother.

I'm currently dailying a 330i Sport with a welder etc etc, and while I hated it at first for drifting, seemed boring to me compared to MX5s (twice as fast, but I don't need power to drift) a few changes and it's not bad at all, and it's deffo nice as a daily, looks decent, comfy, HK stereo, leather, decent enough on fuel, blahblah. And it cost me a grand with a years MOT.

For 3k you got a shitload of options, though as a 1st drifter, if you really gonna drift it, I'd not spend 3k.

3. MagicMik0

MagicMik0 Member

yeah I've kind of discovered that to be honest, which is why I'm open to suggestions now, cos before I was like oh S13 only nothing else but now like I said, I'll consider things.