Aftermarket exhaust - S13

Thread in 'Technical Questions' started by erykmedykowski, Feb 27, 2015.

1. erykmedykowski

erykmedykowski New Member

Hey, so I recently just bought my S13 - it came with a 3 inch aftermarket exhaust (unsure of brand).
    Now since I'm a beginner I need to know a few things before I break anything :wack:

So I got the exhaust on, it's a bolt on and there was two parts to it (didn't include downpipe). I never got gaskets with it, so here's where I'm getting all confused.

Do I need to put a gasket between each component? I just bought two HKS 3 inch gaskets, as the exhaust is a three inch and my other gasket was ripped and old. So now, should I have a gasket between the two components that I got? one of them is the silencer, and the other one is the cat. Should I have a gasket between them? I know I should have one between the downpipe, but the downpipe hole is most likely too small, does this mean I need to get a 3 inch downpipe? I wouldn't have a problem with that - but then when I install the downpipe, at the top of it, will it fit onto wherever that connects up to? (sorry I'm a beginner). Basically I'm asking if I need a gasket between every component? and if I get a new downpipe, will the three inch connect up to whatever that's connected up to? and will I need a gasket for that?

Thanks for any help and sorry about the noobiness.

2. miffy

miffy Member

Gasket for elbow to turbo , for the rest if you don't have access to the gaskets just use any gasket gluey shit . If it blows after the lamber it don't really matter but it will sound gay obviously

#2 miffy, Feb 27, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2015
  3. erykmedykowski

I was meaning exhaust gaskets - like for the cat and silencer bits. I have used sealer although it does blow at high revs

4. miffy

miffy Member