ok, so I have my m50 conversion, just afew silly questions about where some bits go

Thread in 'Technical Questions' started by Tommy Bates, Mar 24, 2013.

1. Tommy Bates

Tommy Bates Member

Right, got my 2.5 conversion for my compact its a m50 non vanos, just got afew questions about where some auxiliarys go like brether pipes ect, I have done engine conversions befor but never on bimmers here are pics

1.What does the pipe on the botom right go to
    [​IMG]

2.Whats this plug for?

[​IMG]

Whats this bras component for?
    [​IMG]

May seem like noob questions but its because I am a noob, please be gental with me :)

2. simonlpearce

simonlpearce Member

First is crank case and should plug into the crank case vent valve which i think is then plumbed into the dipstick.

Second looks like the MAF plug so should plug into the sensor.

3rd goes into the intake. Think its a temp sensor or something. It was plumbed into the filter on mine...

3. chidley

chidley i like fingers

first is crank case? that makes no sense to me. it looks more like a breather for the rocker cover, but not entirely sure where this should go to or if its ok just breathing to atmosphere?

second is 100% not maf plug, the maf plug is a female connector (very similar) whereas that one is a male connecter.. but i still dont know where it goes.

third is correct, it goes to your airbox. aint essential but try to plumb it in if you can tommy. i might have a spare 325 airbox knocking around you can have if i do

4. bell

bell Without patience

first is crankcase breather almost like a recirc for the oil afaik

second goes to a plug next to the fusebox in the engine bay unsure what it is but it does aswell as a massive plug in the same style

third isnt essential but car may run like shite if it isnt plugged in so as said worth a shot.

if my answers are wrong i'll have a look at an m50 conversion i did with all the necassarys plugged in and attempt some pics to help you out bud

5. chidley