Drift Hardbody with bmw suspension and VR6

Thread in 'Project Cars and Builds Threads' started by ApkFabrication, Aug 20, 2018.

1. ApkFabrication

ApkFabrication New Member

Hey everyone, I just found this website and decided to post the pictures of my current project that i've been working on for the last 6 months.

It started out as a 1995 Nissan Hardbody single cab 2wd
    This is somewhere I can dump the pictures that I don't post on my social media. Somewhere to keep a more detailed log of the build

#1 ApkFabrication, Aug 20, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2018
  2. ApkFabrication

When my Opa was younger he had wanted to be a millwright/machinist, but when his dad said he had to take over the family farm that was that. So he became a farmer, and slowly over the years he has built up a collection of metal working tools and has taught himself the basics and has in turn taught me a lot of the things he learned.

This build is a collaboration of ideas and designs from myself and my Opa

IMG_1460.JPG The day I got the truck
    IMG_1612.JPG
    my Opa went on vacation for 2 weeks and didn't know the extent of the build yet. He told me "don't take the bed off and it better not be in pieces when I get back"
    IMG_1622.JPG

whoops IMG_1638.JPG
    bed is off and I powerwashed all the mud and junk off the frame

IMG_1618.JPG
    just looking at what we need to cut out
    IMG_1655.JPG
    There is so much stuff in the rear end of these trucks
    IMG_1663.JPG
    We pulled the solid axle out to make room for the IRS
    IMG_1685.JPG
    IRS set in rough place to see what kind of mounts i'll need to make
    IMG_1755.JPG
    plated the inside of the frame rails and welded in crossmembers to hold the IRS
    IMG_1787.JPG
    looking back on this picture I remember being scared to cut the frame up haha
    IMG_1789.JPG
    had to cut it for wheel clearance
    IMG_1820.JPG
    Bolted the IRS up and in the process of making spring perches
    IMG_1836.JPG

IMG_1837.JPG