What are your biggest frustrations when working on cars at home?

Thread in 'Technical Questions' started by II_Mullin_II, Oct 15, 2018.

1. II_Mullin_II

II_Mullin_II New Member

Hi Driftworks community,

I am a student studying Product Design at the University of Huddersfield.
    I am finding problems and frustrations for working on cars (particularly at home) - this may be a task/process or to do with an existing piece of equipment. (Tedious tasks?, Jobs that take longer than they should? Any painful jobs to carry out? Any tasks where you have to improvise tools? etc)

By answering this post you are giving me permission and agreeing to me using your comments albeit anonymously. None of the information will be shared outside of my university report.

Anything you post will be of much use, thank you.

2. BenRice

BenRice Well-Known Member

Biggest thing that stops me working in the garage is sound. A lot of the time I can't get stuff done because i need to use a noisy electric tool while people are asleep. Drilling holes in steel is probably the biggest one.

After that is lighting. I've started using headlamps to help but they tend to be too bulky or when used as a normal lamp won't stay put and end up rolling over and blinding me. Tiny, high output LED lights would be awesome, and with the ability to attach with velcro (carpet), magnetic (engine bay) and clip would be ideal. USB rechargeable would also be ideal. Would need to be no bigger than a golf ball.

Then it would be getting the car in the air. Even just getting the car up to change a wheel is a multistep process. I've wondered whether you could take a slim air jack, fit a compressed air hose to it and feed it compressed air to lift the car up. Could slide it under the diff, or under the front subframe. Issue would be the range: you'd need to go from 30mm to 120-150mm. Ideally 200mm so you could throw a jack stand (or even better, wheel stand) under the car.