Low compression on CA18DET

Thread in 'Technical Questions' started by Tomaphobia, Oct 14, 2019.

1. Tomaphobia

Tomaphobia Member

So, I know this question has been asked a lot but i'd rather have my own answers and be able to ask more as we go.

So i'm pretty new to cars and decided to do a compression test.. The car felt a bit sluggish and had a little bit of smoke coming out the exhaust but other than that no other symptoms.

Long story short all cylinders are 110-115 from cold and about 115-120 hot and i'm trying to find time to do a wet test.

What's the best course of action from here? I'm pretty new to cars so I wouldn't really fancy rebuilding the engine myself and from what i've ready already its not worth it for a CA.

I know everyone will say SR20 but i'm going to get into drifting and don't really want a great deal of power to start with.

What would a best case scenario be? Should i just run the car until it goes bang then swap in another CA or an SR?

2. r3k1355

r3k1355 Well-Known Member

The engine was fully upto temp and you tested with the throttle wide open and a fully charged battery?

What were the individual test results?
    If all cylinders are within about 10% of each other then you can happily run the engine, even down at 100psi it'll still run alrite(ish) as long as the cylinders are similar compression.

The smoke is probably the turbo, alot are old and abit worn.
    A rebuild is only a few hundred quid so it's no great problem, depending on what type of smoke it is you could always try the one-way-valve trick to see if it stops it for a while.

3. Tomaphobia

Tomaphobia Member

i did a cold test first, and then a test when fully up to temp and yes throttle was wide open and yep fully charged battery.

i can't remember the exact results but i think it was something like 110 110 115 110 ish (about the same in both hot and cold test)