Going To Look At a S13!?!

Thread in 'Technical Questions' started by Black Betty, Jan 16, 2005.

1. Black Betty

Black Betty Bamalam

Im in need of a bit of help by all of you lot in the know about S13's! A friend of a friend is selling his S13 due to his mrs wont let him keep all of his toys, and the latest toy is a 636 Kwaki!
    The S13 is a G plate, with 115k on the clock in metallic maroon, been owned in the family from new but the Turbo's impeller shaft has seized, and supposibly still driveable due to the turbo hasnt blown up and hasnt sent unwanted metallic objects in to the engine! Hes after £600! Is this a decent price?? Im not worried about fixing it, cuz im a mechanic and dont get put off by little projects like that, but i was wondering if that was cheap in the land of S13's!! The rest of the car is mint, and has never given any trouble before!

Any help would be really appricaited! :thumbs: :D ;)

2. DirtyDrifter

DirtyDrifter Member

only bad things i've heard about the s13 is the turboskeep on blowing but ifthis one is siezed and u would be willin to fix or replace it then i dont see a prob. seems like a bargin @ 600 pounds

3. kieran_e1

kieran_e1 In need of practice

ok the list to check should go something like
    check for rust under spoiler and on arches
    rattle from big ends throughout rev range.
    ALLEGEDLY a car of this mileage should be thinking rebuild so ask if that's been done ( mine has 134k with no rebuid so that is other people's opinion )
    check rear subframe bush condition. These do go and are pretty annoying to replace. Knackered ones can adversely effect handling and put you off an otherwise decent car.
    However £600 is a f..king good price if all the above are in order and you can get a recon t25 for less than £100 off ebay but you really want a t28 again similar prices f you shop about!!

Good Luck
    Kieram :smokin:

4. Black Betty

Black Betty Bamalam