Comprehensive guide to reliably running S14 low?

Thread in 'Technical Questions' started by Gooly, Mar 4, 2016.

1. Gooly

Gooly Member

I'm pretty new to nissans; I've had two relatively standard S13s but most of my driving experience has been building and drifting road spec E36s. I have a written off S14a which I bought and I have an S14 rolling shell on the way, with the end goal of having a nice streetable S14 which will occasionally see track use (Lydden's been fucked off now so doubt I'll be on track more than 2/3 times a year). I do like running cars relatively low but there seems to be a load of issues that come up when you run S14s low and drive them hard regularly. As far as I know, things that will need sorting are the following:

1) CV joints breaking due to excess pitch angle
    2) Exhaust scraping, premature turbo gasket failure / manifold cracking due to movement
    3) Front arch loom rubbing through
    4) Inner arch clearance

There are bits and bobs of information floating around on all these issues but I wanted to see if we could compile a comprehensive thread of the best ways to address these issues on a relatively simple build. I don't want to tub arches / cut & resolder loom or do anything major like that and I just plan on running with the standard T28, a 3" turbo back system, some 17x9s on 235/40s and HSD DTs with basic lock mods like rack spacers and extended LCAs. Ideally I'd like to have arch on tyre up front and tucking most tyre on the back, which from reading other threads is low enough to bring the above issues up.

Solutions which have been suggested so far are:

1)
    - Driveshaft spacers, which I've been told need to be welded onto cups ideally
    - Raising subframe, thus bringing the diff further in line with hubs (can you get polybush raisers? can only find solid and dont want to solid bush subframe for a road car). Potential change to handling?
    -Shortening rear lower arms; again, potential change to handling?