a NEW england e36

Thread in 'Project Cars and Builds Threads' started by jayjaypea, Jun 19, 2013.

1. jayjaypea

jayjaypea New Member

Name is Justin, I'm from eastern Massachusetts. Truth be told, I've never made any kind of build thread, or really worked on a car much beyond the simple stuff up until a couple weeks ago. I have been working on some old mopeds and motorcycles for a couple years (Yamaha, Puch, Motobecane, Garelli, etc), and got interested in drifting a little under 2 years ago, and have been itching to get some seat time for myself. I had a rwd car already, but didn't feel like banging it up.
    [​IMG]

So instead I've been looking around for a beater car to get some experience in. s13, s14, rx-7; looked for all of them, they were all either really nice and really expensive, or cheap and rotted out (one of the downfalls of living in massachusetts). So I finally found a happy medium between cheap and drivable, and settled on this.

[​IMG]

1993 BMW 325is. $900. The rust came free. engine/tranny have about 140k, body has about 288k. I really think I'm the end of the line for this car haha Unfortunately, as I was driving it home, stupid me didn't close the hood all the way and it flew open while I was driving it, bending it real nice and cracking the windshield. But its never gonna look pretty, its gonna get beat on, and if it last me a year I'll be happy. PO replaced a bunch of the front suspension bits, which is always good. Tires were decent. clutch seems all right. Revs are a little slow to come back down, which is annoying, but I'll see if I can get that fixed. A complete, if a bit dirty, interior. The biggest concern is the rust, but I'm gonna use it as an excuse to improve on the minimal welding experience that i have.

[​IMG]
    yummy

[​IMG]
    oh well luckily that's just on the fender, I got a new one of those waiting to go on...

[​IMG]
    ahhh... not so much...