E46 Smokin' Skid Build

Thread in 'Project Cars and Builds Threads' started by Verizino, Jan 6, 2020.

1. Verizino

Verizino New Member

So here's the plan that I've been coming up with since I bought the car last year. This is pretty vague because I know for sure that things will change as it progresses but as it does I'll give more details when I can. My aim is to build up this E46 318ci into a capable(ish) drift car. I'm by no means an expert at this but I want to see just how far I can get before I lose my head.
    I want to keep it streetable which I'm sure will cause some issues down the line but heck let's see how far I can get.
    To be blunt and summarise what I've found so far, I'm looking to begin by stripping down the interior but not a full gut, replace things like door cards and rear seats with alternatively to keep the wiring away. Not sure about cage or just a harness bar just yet. Obviously bucket seats and harness are on the list.
    Exterior wise I love the looks of a wide body kit so will definitely look into that once I get the interior sorted. The cars got a pretty naff set of bumpers and skirts so I'm stuck between the M3 style or M sport stuff for those. In my opinion the rear of these cars stock is pretty dull so no doubt there'll be a wing/spoiler of some sorts.
    In terms of the rear subframe and such, my plan is to go with mostly 330ci parts but I'll look further into this later. The rear subframe weld in kit will also be done when I get to this stage. I'm also hoping to run true coilovers in the rear just to keep the rear wheel well more open for wider wheels and the second brake line for the hydro. In the front I'm hoping for an angle kit though nothing quite as crazy as the SLR or Wisefab packages but who knows.