First Drift Car Advice

Thread in 'Other Chat' started by MOONANOOM, Oct 16, 2018.

1. MOONANOOM

MOONANOOM New Member

So I am looking to purchase my first drift/race car build. What I am looking for is something that is:
    1. Cheap to purchase in decent condition (Under $5000 US)
    2. Large variety of aftermarket parts at reasonable prices
    3. Easy to work on in a home garage
    I'm leaning towards an MX5 Miata and was wondering what are your guys thoughts on this as a first project?
    Also for some background it will be my first real car build and i have very little mechanical experience, but i know the basics. (Have replaced cooling systems before, know how to do regular tune ups and basic troubleshooting, have done basic electrical work on cars, know how to change tires and all that basic stuff, have replaced mufflers etc. I don't have experience with in depth engine work, suspension work, or brakes. Another reason for choosing this is the large amounts of info available online on fixing them.

What other vehicles might you guys recommend?
    Also please don't suggest anything like Skyline GTS-T's or Silvias or 180/240sx because they are just too hard to find in the US in my price range without having high miles or being beat to shit. Also I love BMW's but I am not interested in them at this time due to the fact that they are so expensive to service in the US professionally.

2. BenRice

BenRice Well-Known Member

MX5/Miata is the logical choice considering your situation

Other options could be 350z / G35 if you can fit it within budget. The aftermarket support and knowledge base is just as good as the Miata nowadays.