getting over understeer

Thread in 'Drifting Chat / Pictures / Videos' started by joetheeskimo, Feb 24, 2014.

1. joetheeskimo

joetheeskimo Member

Ive done a few drift evenings so far but I'm still learning to drift in my mx5. I keep getting major understeer into the corners. I have the car dropped on cheap coil-overs. i haven't had the alignment done since it was dropped but i get major understeer in the corners to the point i just go straight. sometimes i can get it without an issue but a lot of the time i get understeer, I've tried going in faster, slower, more aggressive, less aggressive etc but still happens.

Just want to know what people do with more experience.

Thanks

2. TomTheGoat

TomTheGoat Member

alignment and tyre pressure should help

3. Blackett

Blackett No Comment

With a welded diff in the wet you are going to get understeer in an MX5 when trying to initiate a 'power over' drift (turn in and floor it), especially as it's so light.

1. Buy the best 'wet tyres' you can afford for the front.
    2. Check your front tyre pressures (26 psi in the dry) maybe 24 psi in the wet?
    3. Soften the suspension for more grip in the wet (if possible?).

To eliminate understeer on initiation either:

1. Slow down and clutch kick.
    2. Turn in, dip clutch and pull handbrake momentarily, lift clutch and floor it.

Once the car is sideways use the weight of the car to transition between bends, lift off and when the car straightens hit the throttle to push the back out the other way. Timing is key to get the car swinging. Too much throttle n the transition and you'll spin. Not enough and you'll grip and have to initiate again.

In my MX5 I use 70 psi in the rears in the bone dry and 35 psi in the soaking wet, somewhere between for mixed conditions.

Ian. :)

#3 Blackett, Feb 24, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2014
  4. CBRParr

CBRParr Active Member