Handbrake Button help

Thread in 'Driftworks Products & Enquiries' started by Ash_Fc3s, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. Ash_Fc3s

    Ash_Fc3s Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Hello :dw:

    I just recently brought one of your handbrake buttons and a couple of other goodies. Firstly thankyou for the super fast delivery and the Wham bar :thumbs::thumbs:.

    Upon fitting it i run into a bit of an issue, this is probably a really stupid question.. I have an RX7 FC3S btw, do i remove the spring that is already in there or does this stay in place?

    Any help would be appreciated, yes i already now i may be an idiot:wack:
    Ash
     
  2. JonnyAE86

    JonnyAE86 暴走族 大石

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Posts:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Japan
    If your installing it on a S13 (judging by your avatar) you leave the spring in, just have to pull out the handbrake rubber thingy and pop out the 2 small metal claws holding the spring.

    Place the spin knob and voila!
     
  3. Robbs

    Robbs FRANTIC

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    9,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    FAREHAM (Almost-Portsmouth-ish)
    ^^^^^^^^ perhaps you should read before you post :rolleyes: and its also a FC3S in his avatar too :wack:




    if FC is the same fitting as an FD (screw on type as opposed to nissan slip on type) then yes unscrew the button remove the spring, screw drift button in place job done :thumbs:




    .
     
    #3 Robbs, Dec 15, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2009
  4. Ash_Fc3s

    Ash_Fc3s Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Ok, i have tryed that but the mechanism seems to stick on now everytime i pull the handbrake and release =[[ is this just a case of fiddling now?
     
  5. Robbs

    Robbs FRANTIC

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    9,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    FAREHAM (Almost-Portsmouth-ish)
    nope same situation as with mx5's then, the buttons too long and jams the mechanism, chop 20mm of the length of the drift button and redrill and tap the thread and it will be cool.
     
  6. Ash_Fc3s

    Ash_Fc3s Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Thanks for your help robbs i will give that a go =]
     
  7. identiti

    identiti Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive just fitted one of driftworks knobs to my fc,chopped around 20mm off drilled and tapped it then chopped half the spring off then put the spring back in and it works dandy.
     
  8. Robbs

    Robbs FRANTIC

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    9,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    FAREHAM (Almost-Portsmouth-ish)
    why did you chop the spring ??? just remove it completely :nod:
     

Share This Page