IS200 2JZ-GE build

Thread in 'Project Cars and Builds Threads' started by Seddon11, Apr 12, 2016.

  1. Seddon11

    Seddon11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wigan england
    So my friend was scrapping his is200 the other day due to a blown engine, so i threw him £200 and he chucked in a draper spanner set along with some draper screwdrivers. i borrowed a tow rope and dragged the is home with the golf(really lucky as the carabena snapped as i pulled up outside the house), with a little persuasion we pushed it onto the drive. after some research and restricted funds (student life) i decided a 2j from a gs300 would be the engine for me, just got to put some hours in at work and then the parts can start rolling in, heres the car as it sits[​IMG]
     
    #1 Seddon11, Apr 12, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2016
  2. Seddon11

    Seddon11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wigan england
    First part bought for the lex, picked it up whilst i was getting some ramps to get the golf on the drive cause i may have lowered it a little too much, not bad for £15[​IMG]
     
  3. Seddon11

    Seddon11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wigan england
    also been looking, which is the best way to mount the engine?
     
  4. Minimoke

    Minimoke Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Posts:
    264
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    They left the factory with the 2J-GE as an IS300, so I'd imagine it's either a straight drop in job or something very simple if not.
     
  5. Pete_the_Russian

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Posts:
    890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aberdeen / Russia
    1. Take engine from gs300 with engine brackets and mounts.
    2. Stare at it for 2 minutes.
    3. Spend another 5 minutes dropping the engine into the engine bay.
    4. Now you have a JZ in your IS
     
  6. Minimoke

    Minimoke Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Posts:
    264
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex

    Hmm. Sounds a bit too complicated for me.
     
  7. Gooly

    Gooly Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    london
    What you doin for gearbox?
     
  8. Aidan_G

    Aidan_G Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Posts:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    get any old gearbox from an e36 probably cost £50-100 and a bmw gearbox to jz adapter plate for about £250. cheapest option really. can always get a box from a 530d e39 if you plan to boost it. loads of lads running 1jz's and 2jz's use them
     
  9. Al_E11evens

    Al_E11evens Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    662
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Wales
    Worth trying an adapter on the lex gearbox too mate. One of my pals just swapped in a 1uz and used his 6spd is200 gearbox ;)
     
  10. Seddon11

    Seddon11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wigan england
    im studying mechanical engineering at LJMU so i have access to solidworks + 5 axis CNC milling machine, so im going to fabricate my own bellhousing save some pennies :o
     
  11. Seddon11

    Seddon11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wigan england
    Which ECU should i use? ive got a mate with a megasquirt? will that do?
     
  12. Al_E11evens

    Al_E11evens Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    662
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Wales
    If you're putting in a vvti you will need the MS3 for that to work bud


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page