Lotus Exige V6 Drift Car

Thread in 'Project Cars and Builds Threads' started by GFWilliams, Apr 4, 2018.

1. GFWilliams

GFWilliams New Member

Thought I'd say hello in here, I'm the idiot who thinks it's a good idea to take my Exige V6 to a drift day at Rockingham...

I'm a car photographer and have always loved throwing a car sideways. My car is far from ideal as a drift car, but that's what makes it fun!

A little about the car... It's a Exige S in Liquid Yellow, originally 350hp from a 3.5l supercharged V6, now tuned up to 460hp thanks to the Komo-tec package which consists of a charge cooler, manifolds, downpipe, sports cats, intake, pulley change and a map to make it work. My gearbox is standard although I have a Quaiffe ATB LSD installed.

21640787_1739632566108787_7728651243665362488_o.

I've then installed a 343mm big brake kit on the front and Performance Friction pads all round, and the suspension is now 3 way Nitrons, which I've been really impressed with and with a little bit of adjustment helped me change the balance of the car on track to dial out a bit of the understeer.

B8415143.

I've got a full custom interior with custom air vents, a load of unnecessary carbon, a digital dash and carbon fibre Tillett B6 Screamer seats with custom quilted pads. All a bit unnecessary, but I had fun doing it... On the exterior I've just ordered a big gay wing, Cup R front splitter and a louvred engine lid. Hopefully this gives the car a bit more stability at high speeds, and the rear lid allows a bit more heat out of the engine bay. I've also got custom rear lights and mirrors.

Untitled1web1.

My aim is to be able to use the car for road trips, trackdays actually driving fast, then drift days as well. Last year I managed 20k miles in it. This year will be less as work is so busy, but I intend to get it out to Europe for summer for a while for sure. Hopefully I can get some dry drift days in too!

DSC_3143.