Mines ECU Help

Thread in 'Technical Questions' started by Matt1878, Mar 27, 2016.

  1. Matt1878

    Matt1878 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Posts:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought an S14a which has a Mines ECU on it. Are these like a plug and play type ECU that have a preset map on them or are they a mappable ECU?

    The car is only currently running 7PSi and therefore seems to be running a little rich. Any recommendations or advice would be great!

    The car currently has no boost controller on there but I will be fitting one in the next couple of days.

    The cars spec is -

    1996 Import Nissan S14a
    156,000 Kilometres


    Engine/Transmission
    Stock SR20DET
    S15 Turbo
    Stock Gearbox
    Mines ECU
    Kaaz 2 Way LSD
    HKS Mushroom Air Filter
    Downpipe/Decat
    Catback Exhaust
    FMIC
    Alloy Radiator
    555 Injectors
    Walbro Fuel Pump
    Greddy Turbo Timer
    Paddle Clutch
    Engine Torque Damper
    Blitz Blow Off Valve


    Chassis/Suspension/Braking
    KYB/Daiyama Coilovers
    Japspeed Camber Arms
    R32 GTR Front Brakes




    Exterior-
    30mm Bolt on Rear Arches
    Venter Front Wings
    Aftermarket Side Skirts
    Japspeed BGW w/ legs
    Vented Bonnet
    Rota MXR wheels 10J Front / 12J Rear


    Interior-
    Evo 8 Recaro Drivers seat
    Sparco Steering wheel
    Apexi Boost Gauge
     
  2. Matt1878

    Matt1878 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Posts:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone help??
     
  3. stevieturbo

    stevieturbo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Posts:
    183
    Likes Received:
    1
    Pretty sure you cannot do anything with them.
     
  4. Stavros

    Stavros Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Posts:
    26,133
    Likes Received:
    9
    A Mines ECU is just a remapped standard one, not mappable.

    Have you an AFR meter or just guessing it's rich?

    Boost pressure shouldn't affect AFR unless it's beyond what it's mapped for and running lean anyhow.
     
  5. Matt1878

    Matt1878 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Posts:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0

    As suspected. I figured they are just a plug and play type ECU that was tuned by mines to a setup and then sealed.

    As for the AFR, I will be on the rolling road soon to check the AFR's accurately.. It just tends to pop and bang a lot.
     
  6. r3k1355

    r3k1355 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Posts:
    3,465
    Likes Received:
    141
    Probably a boost leak or an issue with the dump valve.
     
  7. Matt1878

    Matt1878 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Posts:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0

    What could? I don't have any boost issues. It's running stock boost. I don't want to go turning the boost up without knowing the AFR with the MINES ECU. I've had a couple of people tell me that it will run 1 bar with no problems.
     
  8. clonehunter

    clonehunter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    What....uhm
    mate you are running a mines unreprogrammable ECU (mostly just boltons and more boost and maybe a little more timing) with 555cc injectors while 370cc is stock for an s14a and you wonder why you're running rich? :D
    Get rid of this ECU and go with everything else, preferably what your tuner can tune good near you.

    Tbh it CAN be remapped, but just by Mines itself, and for a checkup you would have to send it to them.
     
  9. Matt1878

    Matt1878 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Posts:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I know it's running rich, I never doubted that xD ... All I was wondering was if anyone has the knowledge as to what setup mines tuned this for and at what boost?
    I plan on going down the nistune route as I'm
    Not exactly chasing figures or anything like that.. Would I be better running the Stock ECU for now and what boost can be ran on one of them without having any issues...

    Cheers :)
     
  10. Matt1878

    Matt1878 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Posts:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know the value of the Mines ECU?

    Cheers
     
  11. r3k1355

    r3k1355 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Posts:
    3,465
    Likes Received:
    141
    Fuck all.
    It's a stock ECU with a map, nothing special.

    You've no idea for certain what the map is, the only people that can tell you are Mines and they'll want you to ship it over to Japan for them to check.
     
    #11 r3k1355, Apr 8, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2016
  12. clonehunter

    clonehunter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    dont run your car at all, your injectors are big a.f. and it will run like shit.
    Get new ECU and tune.
    I recon the pricing in the 250-300 pound range.
    As r3k stated, only mines can find out whats in there.
     

Share This Page