My 1JZ Wiring Conversion Table So Far: Anyone Help?

Thread in 'Technical Questions' started by jonny mac, Jun 24, 2013.

  1. jonny mac

    jonny mac 1jzS14

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Posts:
    735
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Scotland
    My 1JZ Wiring Conversion To S14 So Far: Anyone Help?

    remove.
     
    #1 jonny mac, Jun 24, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2014
  2. dale_b

    dale_b #DriftFactory

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    5,833
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey UK
    On the 1j plug you need to connect up the following..
    IGSW (Ign switch)
    +B & +B1 & Batt (fused switched power to ecu)

    That's all you need to connect to make it run. The other shiz is optional..

    On the 1j plug, cut NSW (neutral start). Think you cut STA too, but try it with just NSW first.

    Can't remember if you said yours is vvti or not?
     
    #2 dale_b, Jun 24, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2013
  3. jonny mac

    jonny mac 1jzS14

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Posts:
    735
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Scotland
    Thanks dale. So only 4 wires to power then a few earths and it'll start? :)

    Mine is a non VVT
     
  4. dale_b

    dale_b #DriftFactory

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    5,833
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey UK
    Yeah here you go.. Just put power to the +B, +B1, Batt. Ignore the rest.. This was from when I put my 1j in my old gs300 and was just matching the abbreviations from one Pinout to the other.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. dale_b

    dale_b #DriftFactory

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    5,833
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey UK
    Re Earths... The ecu takes earths from the engine loom so don't worry about that.

    Just make sure you put plenty of Earth straps on the engine to the chassis. Particularly the one at the back of the head, And chuck an extra couple of big ones on... Iv got a few random bits of an old earthing kit all over mine. Don't underestimate how much difference this will make, particularly when it's hot and under a lot of load.
     
  6. jonny mac

    jonny mac 1jzS14

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Posts:
    735
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Scotland
    for reference the 1jz has two types of ecu

    top is a supra

    bottom is a soarer

    [​IMG]

    my diagram above was roughly for the supra 1jz ecu

    I need to make one using dale's info from the soarer ecu
     
  7. RyanH

    RyanH Lacks skills

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orpington / Bromley
    I've got a pinout diagram at my work, if nobody can post one tonight I'll try to sort one tomorrow :)

    Edit: just seen you've posted up a diagram in your first post
     
  8. RyanH

    RyanH Lacks skills

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orpington / Bromley
    Also, forgot to mention you'll eventually need some kind of fan control circuit for the rad fan (s). I went with kenlowe fans and they come with their own temp sensor :)
     
  9. dale_b

    dale_b #DriftFactory

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Posts:
    5,833
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey UK
    So which ecu have you got, top or bottom one?
     
  10. jonny mac

    jonny mac 1jzS14

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Posts:
    735
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Scotland
    I've got the top one, which matches the plug diagram you put up dale

    however after a phone call tonight with my mate, we might try cut back the soarer chassis plugs and use them, as can also get the rest of the info for lighting up the dash and rev counters from them too, plus leaves the ecu connectors alone

    the other thing we realised tonight is the alternator/starter/fusebox will all need custom wires changed

    with the s14 the fuse box is on the other side to the soarer

    so my thinking behind it is, keep the s14 fusebox and alternator wire then run from the boot a battery cable which will go along the bulk head and down into the starter, then another cable which will go along the strut top and into the fuse box, this in theory should solve it

    as for the interior loom i'll be taking an s14a loom, cutting back all the black cable protection stuff and following the wires back to keep the wipers/indicator on the wing and possibly the starter signal wire, then cutting the f4 plug off with a good bit of length aside, then the rest of those wires hanging on the f4 plug will be joined into the soarer chassis plugs
     
  11. RyanH

    RyanH Lacks skills

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orpington / Bromley
    I'm not 100% sure, but I dont think the speedo / rev counter will accept the signals from the 1jz ecu. You're going from 4 cylinders to 6.

    You can get Dakota signal converters to get your dash working :)
     
    #11 RyanH, Jun 26, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2013
  12. jon07043278

    jon07043278 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    North Wales
    Super thread bump but saves starting fresh.

    So I'm wiring up a 1JZ non-vvti but cant get it to fire.

    So I have 12v to the +B, +B1 and BATT pins.

    I've tried cutting and earthing the NSW pin.

    The fuel pump and starter are hard wired.

    What am I missing? I've done this before but it was a few engines ago lol.


    Thanks
     
  13. jon07043278

    jon07043278 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    North Wales

Share This Page