no knowledge e36 build

Thread in 'Project Cars and Builds Threads' started by tiredhero, Jan 17, 2016.

  1. rashdi88

    rashdi88 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tired hero bro I liked you thred you have a great passion in your car and drift. I feel you bro as I'm exactly the same and I own e46 318i and soon I'll start to build it for drift
    I wish if I leave close to you so I can help and train together [emoji16]
    Keep going man and keep us updated
     
  2. rashdi88

    rashdi88 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]

    That's my tire slayer [emoji13].... Soon it will be

    And yes bro you can drift that 316 stoke engine that's fore sure bat you need to practice. I know it coz I did it with my 318
     
    #22 rashdi88, Feb 17, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2016
  3. rashdi88

    rashdi88 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    50 psi man isn't it to risky? As I know most of the tires are made to be handling maximum of 50 psi and the mor the pressure the mor it gain heat and faster so it's easier to explode I think 45 will be les risk and the tire will be hard enough! Don't you think so?
     
  4. mint

    mint touch my fruit

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Posts:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Scotland / Japan
    lol. I used to drift with 80 psi all day long................
     
  5. rashdi88

    rashdi88 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Woooooow looool thank good nothing happened to you man. Then I think it's ok hahaha
     
  6. mint

    mint touch my fruit

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Posts:
    7,791
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Scotland / Japan
    Nothing happened other than some drifting happened haha. No tyre exploded or set on fire or killed kittens :p So 50 is legit. We used to daily 60psi aswell.
     
  7. rashdi88

    rashdi88 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool then I will go for that
     
  8. rashdi88

    rashdi88 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bat let me ask you when you did that what tires you where using old used tires or new ones ??
     
  9. tiredhero

    tiredhero Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Posts:
    204
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    near lincolnshire
    Thanks for the comments guys nearly got my rear subframe off... Till the misses rang to say somethings wrong with her car...

    So I have all the bolts apart from the propshaft bolts and the brake lines and I'm guessing the handbrake.... I'll post some pictures later...

    I have no idea how to get the lines off...

    Misses is eyeing up my coiloves as well so might be getting some more
    For the tourer
     
  10. 325i_Hoonigan

    325i_Hoonigan Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Posts:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Africa
    Hey man could you let me if the e36 has single brake line going to each caliper or a single line with a t connection separating to each caliper
     
  11. tiredhero

    tiredhero Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Posts:
    204
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    near lincolnshire
    If you mean the rear ones dude I'm not too sure as the 316 only has hubs on the back :\ the tourer has disks at the rear so ill let you know what they are like tomorrow as she is stealing my coilovers... And then ill be ordering some more for the coupe when I sell this shitroen :)
     
  12. 325i_Hoonigan

    325i_Hoonigan Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Posts:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Africa
    Ok cool don't forget dem pics
     
  13. tiredhero

    tiredhero Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Posts:
    204
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    near lincolnshire
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    started redoing the alloys too

    [​IMG]

    this bloody brake line i can not get off

    [​IMG]
    i think i know how to get this off but any one wants to inform me of the right way before i smash it off is more than welcome to tell me :)

    also is this the handbrake cable ? and how the hell do i take this off :/ ... ?

    [​IMG]

    thanks for reading every one im pretty sure ill actually do some decent updates when i get this subframe off like actually weld the diff and try to drift it... with lots of psi in the tyres :/

    you can all have a good laugh at me in my 1.6 trying to not spin out
     
  14. D.I.Y Drifter

    D.I.Y Drifter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire, yorkshire
    By the looks of it you might be as well to smash it off and get new ones pal! But keep up the good work on it
     
  15. DCDave

    DCDave New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Little propane torch on the top of that brake line fitting nut, get it nice and hot and try and avoid the rubber line below, then use good vice grips if you have rounded the nut. Works 90% of the time for me and saves you butchering the hard line.
     
  16. DCDave

    DCDave New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Handbrake cable needs disconnected from inside the drum or the disc, they can seize in the hub and be a real pain, long punch helps get em out.
     
  17. D.I.Y Drifter

    D.I.Y Drifter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire, yorkshire
    They just don't look like they're worth saving to me is all mate!
     
  18. tiredhero

    tiredhero Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Posts:
    204
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    near lincolnshire
    Thanks for the advice guys ill give them a go tomorrow with the torch and try to unbolt them if not I guess ill try to get them off one way or another :) and just replace them so I can get things going already....
     
  19. tiredhero

    tiredhero Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Posts:
    204
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    near lincolnshire
    Looks like from mine any way that they have separate lines buddy but I think some may be different :\


    So I ended up snapping the brakes as they are shagged anyways :( still trying to get the handbrake cable off... I stripped the shoes back ill refurb them... But still not sure how to get the cable off... Do I undo it from the actual handle ???
    Bloody thing is annoying the crap out of me... Got a few house jobs done then decided to make the shed into a spray booth for odd jobs... Currently trying to make a bucket seat back to normal cutting up foam but my son is pissed off saying its his bed :\ 3 year olds are crazy
     
  20. LiamE36

    LiamE36 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you want it out of the drum then you need to disconnect it from the bit inside the drum, then need to smash the fuck out of it as it will defiantly be siezed in the back plate.
    That's why most people just disconnect it from the handbrake lever and pull the cables out the car and leave them in the hubs.
     

Share This Page