Not using lockstops

Thread in 'Technical Questions' started by shirunai, May 6, 2013.

  1. shirunai

    shirunai Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Posts:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ornskoldsvik sweden
    Is it a mistake not to use a "lock stop" while drifting?
    I use Driftworks offset spacers so i guess they may have to take some pounding? since the rack is limiting how much lock i can have

    Driftworks offset spacer
    Driftworks geomaster knuckle
    Driftworks R33 GTR kinked tension rods
    28mm extended s14 LCA

    By the way its on a s14

    [​IMG]
     
  2. kam

    kam I've touched Chris Parry

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    7,566
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, you want a lock stop.
     
  3. silvertop

    silvertop der drifte schlag

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading, Berks
    any particular reason why?
     
  4. Clark3y

    Clark3y Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Posts:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    To save putting shitloads of stress on the offset spacers, presumably..?
     
  5. silvertop

    silvertop der drifte schlag

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading, Berks
    shit, i cut the lock stops off my r32 :s it did some weird shit yesterday at pod. steering was going over centre i think, do the offset spacers stop that?
     
  6. smoody

    smoody Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunderland
    im sure without the lock stops you have a high riask of over centering?
     
  7. Ste333

    Ste333 "The Shoulder"

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Solihull
    The rack spacers will prevent over centering in most cases as they effectively move everything 20mm further forward. But if your not running a lock stop, the steering has no limit effectively so it could still occur.
     
  8. Clive

    Clive Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Posts:
    5,635
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    chichester, west sussex nr portsmouth
    I don't run any lock stops. geos, z32 rods, offset rack spacers.

    Haven't for years. Done more drift days then I will ever know and never bent/broke anything (Jinx'ed that now)
     
  9. kam

    kam I've touched Chris Parry

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    7,566
    Likes Received:
    1
    We don't run them on our cars either, but you "should" have them.
    If we say "no you'll be fine" and you break something = our fault.

    :)
     
  10. superclarkey

    superclarkey DORITECH MOTORSPORT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    18,344
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    West Midlands, Halesowen.
    No lock stops, the world will now end,lol
     
  11. Clive

    Clive Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Posts:
    5,635
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    chichester, west sussex nr portsmouth
    Fair one that :nod:

    But, the biggest causer for shit to break is rack's not being centered due to lazy alignments and big wheels hitting inner shit... :smash::smash:
     
  12. kam

    kam I've touched Chris Parry

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    7,566
    Likes Received:
    1
    Indeed it is :)
     
  13. Rossc0

    Rossc0 Diesel Skidder

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Posts:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ★Tongue punching your Mums fart-box★
    I cut mine off. Fuck lock stops. I dont want my lock to stop
     
  14. smoody

    smoody Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunderland
    haha +1^^ :p
     
  15. Toph34

    Toph34 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys just to add on this lock stop thread.. I've just installed the geo knuckle, offset spacers kinked tension rod and completely cut the lock stop off. But still can't get full lock as the tie rod end is hitting the lca. Any ideas how I can get full lock?
     
  16. HOODS

    HOODS Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Posts:
    814
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Either buy driftworks lower arms (as there skinnier) or notch your current lower arms to allow the track rod end to actually sit beyond the point where they would hit the lca.

    Like my arms here

    [​IMG]
     
  17. superclarkey

    superclarkey DORITECH MOTORSPORT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    18,344
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    West Midlands, Halesowen.
    You don't require notches if your knuckles are made right and you know how to set the car up, I've never had to notch the lower arms with my hubs...

    Doritech – Super-Tech Knuckles | DORITECH

    You need to change your caster :p
     
  18. HOODS

    HOODS Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Posts:
    814
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Glasgow
  19. Clive

    Clive Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Posts:
    5,635
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    chichester, west sussex nr portsmouth
    But caster is a personal thing.
     
  20. superclarkey

    superclarkey DORITECH MOTORSPORT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    18,344
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    West Midlands, Halesowen.
    Not wrong, there knuckles require it because that's how they have designed it, mine don't, and caster is what causes most people's problems, by adding and removing caster its like moving the steering rack forwards and backwards :p
     

Share This Page