Road to Driftcup... S13 Build

Thread in 'Project Cars and Builds Threads' started by kingzy, Sep 4, 2016.

1. kingzy

kingzy Member

Okay so after owning and working on the car for several months now and reading through dozens of threads on here for inspiration I finally figured I'd start up my own.

I've been following drifting for a good 5 years now (I'm 19 years old), and ever since I went to my first event and started watching various videos on the internet such as various grassroots events, D1GP, D1SL, BDC, Formula Drift and more recently IDC and D1NZ I knew it was something I had to do, and for many years I have dreamt of having a car to do it in, in particularly an S13.

With S-Body prices becoming more and more ridiculous the past year or so, I never thought an S13 would be a car I could afford any time soon, but it turns out I've been driving past one for several years without even knowing it was there!

A little about the car, its a 1993 UK spec 200sx S13, running the CA18DET with 130k on the clock. My dad was told via a work colleague of his of the car, and it was literally located 2 minutes down the road from my Grandparents house in Woodbridge, Suffolk ( I live and work just down the road in Ipswich)m so here it is!

33_zpst18tcewg.

33_zpst18tcewg.

32_zps5njyrkme.

35_zpskcvnkppo.

32_zps5njyrkme.

So a little about the car. The previous owner bought it to drift it a long time ago, however his circumstances with his other half changed, and the car was pretty much abandoned outside. Before I bought the car it had been sat for 6 years! It has been through several owners in its life, but has never been messed with. It was fully standard, with all interior etc. The bloke had lost all love for it and wanted the small sum of £500 for the car, so I jumped at the chance!