RX-7 or RX-8

Thread in 'Technical Questions' started by Ryan25s, Oct 5, 2009.

?

RX-7 or Rx-8

Poll closed Oct 5, 2010.
  1. RX-7 (all gens.)

89.6%
  2. RX-8 (all gens.)

10.4%
  1. Ryan25s

Ryan25s New Member

Ok I've finally made the decision to go with one of Mazda's Rx Models for my first drift car project. I have NO drift experience and AVERAGE mechanical skills. The issue at hand is whether to choose the RX-7 or RX-8 Model. I have done a bit of research mostly through forums like these, and heard that the RX-7, Engine wise is a better choice, but that the RX-8 is better handling wise and can even surpass the RX-7 when tuned right. Basically I'm looking for which or the two is best for me to learn on(STOCK), and as my drifting experience grows that i wont out grow the car. Also im looking to invest a lot of time and money in this car so availability of parts and upgrades are essential as well. So there it is, knowing my needs and experience RX-7 or RX-8.

*Please give your reasons for the choice*

***PLEASE NO GENERATIONS ON EITHER MODEL,ONCE I FIND OUT THE MODEL I WANT I'M GOING TO***
    ***POST ONE ON THE GENERATION***
    :dw::dw::dw::dw::dw::dw::dw::dw::dw::dw:

#1 Ryan25s, Oct 5, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2009
  2. big fat nick

big fat nick smells

i'd suggest that if its a car to learn on it depends where your learning and how serious you wanna be.

Basically, rx7 costs from £600 up, if you wang it it doesnt matter.

But i love rx8's, and plenty are used for drifting in other countrys (youtube it), and if your on a track with nowt to hit, theyre probably the more reliable of the too, pimper, cooler (in my book anyhow) and safter if you end up upside down. However, wouldnt wanna crash an expensive car.

How much would you wanna invest? If less, the rx7, if more, the rx8 (basically, it'll cost you big bucks to get propper power out of the rx8)