S13 at 19 Years Old?!

Thread in 'Drifting Chat / Pictures / Videos' started by Rhys Durham, Nov 22, 2018.

1. Rhys Durham

Rhys Durham New Member

So, I'm 18 years old. My dream car is a Nissan 200sx S13 and I have promised myself that I would achieve this dream and have my dream car by the age of 19 years old. I turn 19 early next year, and by sort of April/May time I plan to be looking to buy one. Any advice is appreciated, I want to learn how to drift, legit, on track etc. I want to know the best route for young people with insurance, the simplest mods etc etc. I do have some knowledge of the S13 and I have experience working on Nissan motors. I am an apprentice bus mechanic, but I have been working with cars for the last 4 years. I cant wait for this epic journey, and like I said any advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. john905

john905 Member

try the usual compare sites adjust your date of birth so you are 19 now just to see how much your quotes are, at least that way you can see if you can afford the insurance, as for mods coil overs/welded diff/bucket seat/hydro also i would get an alloy radiator and some temp gauges, obviously the list goes on depending how much your willing to spend, hope this helps bud

3. Rhys Durham

Rhys Durham New Member

Thanks John. I have tried these before but they're all stupidly expensive. Will probably sort something with adrian flux or something. I am an admin of a modified car club and we get 15% off with them. Yes I think for sure first of all, weld the diff, coilovers and wheels, hydro. Will take note about the rad and gauges. Ofc it helps, thankyou very muchly!

4. BenRice

BenRice Well-Known Member

Others will comment on the state of the local market and insurance, but considering you can still register imports i would bring in something from Japan. Also, considering your mechanical experience an engine or gearbox swap will be easier than body work too, so go on the hunt for automatic non-turbo examples